Volunteer awards

Providing recognition to outstanding women in the industry is one way the HBA fulfills its vision to be the premier catalyst for the leadership development of women in healthcare worldwide and the mission to further the advancement and impact of women in healthcare worldwide.

Chair award

The Chair Award is given to an HBA leader who exemplified effective leadership and dedication to the mission of the HBA and had a measurable impact on the HBA global organization, chapter operations, members and/or corporate partners.

Innovation award

This award recognizes a demonstration of commitment, passion and a drive for results that lead to the creation of a new process, product, service or level of recognition for HBA that has or will have a positive benefit to the association and/or a chapter's operations.

Chapter Excellence award

This award recognizes an entire chapter board that has excelled in an area of chapter operations that exceeded the HBA’s membership and/or financial targets and the chapter’s own expectations.


The STAR: Strategic Transformation Achievement Recognition honors one member who has made a significant commitment and contribution to the association and its members. This award is given at the Woman of the Year (WOTY) event in May.

LEAD (Leadership Excellence And Dedication) award

The Leadership, Excellence and Dedication (LEAD) award is the highest honor an HBA volunteer can be given wthin their chapter. It honors a chapter or regional volunteer who has served as a volunteer for at least one year and made a significant contribution during the current calendar year. The LEAD award recipient has demonstrated excellence via sustained contributions at a regional level, positively impacted the region and its ongoing success, and demonstrated dedication to the HBA mission of furthering the advancement and impact of women in healthcare worldwide.

Legacy award

The Legacy award is presented to an HBA volunteer who has consistently demonstrated outstanding service and long-term contributions to HBA over five years. The recipient has been involved as a leader of multiple committee(s)/projects during the course of their volunteering.

Marie Curie award

The Marie Curie award recognizes an innovation (a program, project, process, solution or strategy) that has had a significant impact on the chapter or region. The recipient has followed through on this innovation from concept to implementation and has had a clear and measurable impact on the chapter/region or the HBA overall.

Everest award

The Everest award honors a significant accomplishment that went above and beyond the call of duty or was considered previously impossible. The recipient has shown a willingness to go the extra mile to improve HBA and extended themselves to help others with a high degree of excellence, professionalism, positivity and integrity in their work. She overcame a significant challenge and/or made a sacrifice to ensure an initiative, program  and/or project was executed properly.

Honored Volunteer award

The Honored Volunteer award rewards an HBA volunteer who has demonstrated outstanding service to the chapter/region. Typically offered on a monthly or quarterly basis, this award recognizes volunteers who show strong commitment to the HBA, make an outstanding volunteer contribution, and have high energy and positive attitude.

Spark award

The Spark award is a peer-to-peer recognition program which honors any HBA volunteer who has distinguished themselves through “little bursts of awesomeness” in areas such as attitude, collaboration, pitching in, consistency, leadership and building community by supporting others.